A Note from HRAFF Chair and Co-Founder, Evelyn Tadros


Ev Tadros Image

Evelyn Tadros
HRAFF Chair and Co-Founder


I would like to extend a HUGE thank you to everyone who was involved with the 2016 Human Rights Arts & Film Festival.

This year was HRAFF’s most successful creative program to date, presenting 97 film sessions, forums, exhibitions and performing arts events that reached more than 15,000 people nationwide. We proved zeitgeist with asylum seeker and refugee experiences at the forefront of this year’s festival, as evidenced through our sold out Opening Night Australian premiere, Chasing Asylum by Academy Award winning Director/Producer Eva Orner.

As we head towards our 10th anniversary, I would like to take the opportunity to thank everyone who has taken part in HRAFF’s success over the past nine years. HRAFF would simply not be possible without the dedication of our patrons, board and staff, our Gala and CineSeeds Committees, our ambassadors, our extensive team of over 140 festival volunteers as well as the generous, continuing support of our partners and donors.

I wish to pay particular tribute to our outgoing Program Director and former board member, Malcolm Blaylock. Malcolm has been instrumental in shaping the artistic vision of HRAFF over the last 2 years and we have had incredible success with him at the helm, engaging over 28,000 Australians with an exciting and innovative program of film, art, music and forums.  I had the absolute privilege and pleasure of working with Malcolm for two years on the board prior to him becoming HRAFF’s Program Director and was continually struck by his passion, commitment and dedication to the organisation.  On behalf of the board and staff, our sincere thanks to Malcolm for his significant contribution over the past four years and wish him all the best with his future endeavours.



Malcom Blaylock
Program Director (2014 – 2016)


I would also like to welcome and introduce our newest Board directors, Madeleine Grummet and Peter Capodistrias. Madeleine is the Founder and CEO of Do Re Me Creative and Peter is a partner at Minter Ellison. Thank you to departing directors, Thomas Kane and Hugh Crosthwaite for their considerable time, energy and insights during their time on the board. 

I am also delighted to announce the following team changes: Lauren Valmadre in the role of Program Director, Vy Wijekumar as Marketing & Partnerships Director, Matilda McKenna as our Operations Manager. I congratulate the team on their new positions and the board very much looks forward to working with them as we build towards our momentous 10th year anniversary.

A further particular thanks to this year’s Gala and CineSeeds Committee Chairs, Rossie James and Georgie Bruce.  They helm two dedicated teams of volunteers who have helped develop HRAFF into what we are today, fostering new audiences to experience HRAFF.

And finally thank you to our audiences. By engaging with HRAFF, you enable us to inspire and engage Australians with human rights issues in an accessible and open manner for all age groups and perspectives.

I cannot wait to celebrate our 10 year anniversary with you all next May 2017!


Evelyn Tadros

Spread the Word & Share

Subscribe To Our Newsletter